Mediacom’s Minnesota 1-Gig upgrade schedule is out

Mediacom announced their plan to upgrade all of the Minnesota customers last December (2016). Well they’re making good on that announcement and have kindly send more info on cities and schedules.

They sent me two helpful fliers (1 Gig Map and Launch date for cities)– which I’m going to turn into a searchable blog post here.

Mediacom is spending $1 billion of private capital Mediacom is investing over three years (2016-18) to upgrade its fiber-based network and deliver 1Gig broadband internet to nearly all service areas. The resulting high-capacity network will bring digital services to more communities; deliver fiber-based communication services to more commercial interests; and deploy community Wi-Fi access points in high-traffic public areas.

They will pass 225,885 Minnesota homes with Mediacom’s fiber-rich digital network – border–to–border.

They will launch 1Gig broadband service in 181 communities in the spring and early summer of 2017, making new-generation internet service widely available in non-metro areas.

Here are details on communities and when they will launch:

1-Gig Launches in April 2017

  • Blue Earth County: Lake Crystal, Pemberton
  • Brown County: Sleepy Eye, Springfield
  • Carlton County: Carlton, Cloquet, Moose Lake, Moose Lake Twp., Thomson, Windemere
  • Carver County: Hamburg, Norwood – Young America, Victoria, Waconia      Cottonwood County: Mountain Lake, Faribault County, Wells, Winnebago
  • Hennepin County: Chanhassen, Deephaven, Excelsior, Greenwood, Independence, Long Lake, Loretto, Maple Plain, Medina, Minnetonka Beach, Minnetrista, Mound, Orono, Shorewood, Spring Park, St. Bonifacius, Tonka Bay, Wayzata, Woodland
  • Itasca County: Calumet, Cohasset, Coleraine, Grand Rapids, Harris Twp., Keewatin, La Prairie, Marble, Nashwauk, Taconite, Lake County, Beaver Bay, Silver Bay, Two Harbors
  • Le Sueur County: Cleveland, Kasota, Lake Jefferson, Le Sueur, Montgomery
  • Lincoln County: Ivanhoe, Lake Benton, Tyler
  • McLeod County: Brownton, Hassan Valley, Hutchinson, Lester Prairie, Silver Lake, Stewart, Winsted
  • Meeker County: Collinwood Twp., Cosmos, Darwin, Dassell Twp., Grove City, Litchfield, Litchfield Twp.
  • Murray County: Fulda, Hadley, Slayton, Nicollet County, Lafayette, Saint Peter
  • Nobles County: Worthington
  • Pine County: Sturgeon Lake Twp., Windemere Twp.
  • Pipestone County: Pipestone, Trosky
  • Redwood County: North Redwood, Redwood Falls
  • Renville County: Bird Island, Buffalo Lake, Danube, Fairfax, Franklin, Hector, Lower, Sioux, Morton, Olivia
  • Rice County: Lonsdale, Veseli, Webster
  • Rock County: Luverne
  • Scott County: Belle Plaine, Credit River Twp., Elko – New Market, Prior Lake, Savage,  Spring Lake Twp.
  • Sibley County: Arlington, Gaylord, Gibbon, Henderson, Winthrop
  • St. Louis County: Aurora, Biwabik, Buhl, Chisholm, Eveleth, Fayal Twp., Gilbert, Hermantown, Hibbing, Hoyt Lakes, Kinney, McKinley, Midway Twp., Mountain Iron, Proctor, Virginia
  • Waseca County: Janesville, Waldorf, Waseca
  • Watonwan County     Butterfield   St. James
  • Wright County: Howard Lake

1-Gig Launches, June 2017

  • Big Stone County: Clinton, Graceville
  • Chippewa County: Clara City, Maynard
  • Kandiyohi County: Atwater, Sunburg
  • Lac Qui Parle County: Dawson, Madison
  • Pope County: Starbuck
  • Stearns County: Belgrade, Brooten, Paynesville, Paynesville Twp.
  • Stevens County: Chokio, Hancock, Morris, Morris Twp.
  • Swift County: Appleton, Clontarf
  • Traverse County: Wheaton
  • Yellow Medicine County: Granite Falls

1-Gig Launches, July 2017

  • Dodge County: Dodge Center, Hayfield, Mantorville, West Concord
  • Fillmore County: Canton, Lanesboro, Mabel, Peterson, Preston, Rushford, Spring Valley, Spring Valley Twp.
  • Goodhue County: Cannon Falls, Kenyon
  • Houston County: Brownsville, Caledonia, Caledonia Twp., Hokah   Houston, Spring Grove
  • Mower County: Adams, Brownsdale, Le Roy, Lyle, Waltham
  • Olmsted County: Chatfield, Dover Twp.
  • Steele County: Blooming Prairie
  • Winona County: Dakota, St. Charles City
This entry was posted in FTTH, MN, Vendors by Ann Treacy. Bookmark the permalink.

About Ann Treacy

Librarian who follows rural broadband in MN and good uses of new technology (, hosts a radio show on MN music (, supports people experiencing homelessness in Minnesota ( and helps with social justice issues through Women’s March MN.

1 thought on “Mediacom’s Minnesota 1-Gig upgrade schedule is out

  1. Pingback: Yellow Medicine County Broadband Profile: current ranking 69 | Blandin on Broadband

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s