2018 Minnesota Broadband County Profiles – from Aitkin to Yellow Medicine

In preparation for the 2018 Broadband Conference I have compiled the annual county profiles. For ranking I am using percentage of wired access to speeds of 100 Mbps up and 20 Mbps down – or the state speed goal for 2026. Last year I used wired and fixed wireless so there are some discrepancies although only for a handful of counties.

It’s always interesting to see who is gaining ground, who is losing ground and who is staying steady. Counties that get Minnesota broadband grants tend to be moving forward. There were a few other (USDA) grants that I think we’ll see have an impact next year.

Often I see the greatest leaps forward from the counties that know they are in trouble. There are a number of counties that were on the “10 worst served” list of 2010 that have managed to really turn it around. There are others that have pretty decent access to speeds of 25/3 but dismay access to 100/20. Those are the counties I often worry about – sort of like the student that’s just getting by. No one is feeling the pain but they will eventually. Then of course there are counties that know they are hurting and just haven’t been able to get traction for a solution.

Finally we really do have some awesome providers in the state. Many, but not all, are cooperatives. They are able to make the slow investment required when the population density is low. The return on that investment is often felt by the community before the provider – hopefully they are rewarded with more customers order more services.

Here are links to each county:

  1. Aitkin County
  2. Anoka County
  3. Becker County
  4. Beltrami County
  5. Benton County
  6. Big Stone County
  7. Blue Earth County
  8. Brown County
  9. Carlton County
  10. Carver County
  11. Cass County
  12. Chippewa County
  13. Chisago County
  14. Clay County
  15. Clearwater County
  16. Cook County
  17. Cottonwood County
  18. Crow Wing County
  19. Dakota County
  20. Dodge County
  21. Douglas County
  22. Faribault County
  23. Fillmore County
  24. Freeborn County
  25. Goodhue County
  26. Grant County
  27. Hennepin County
  28. Houston County
  29. Hubbard County
  30. Isanti County
  31. Itasca County
  32. Jackson County
  33. Kanabec County
  34. Kandiyohi County
  35. Kittson County
  36. Koochiching County
  37. Lac qui Parle County
  38. Lake County
  39. Lake of the Woods County
  40. Le Sueur County
  41. Lincoln County
  42. Lyon County
  43. Mahnomen County
  44. Marshall County
  45. Martin County
  46. McLeod County
  47. Meeker County
  48. Mille Lacs County
  49. Morrison County
  50. Mower County
  51. Murray County
  52. Nicollet County
  53. Nobles County
  54. Norman County
  55. Olmsted County
  56. Otter Tail County
  57. Pennington County
  58. Pine County
  59. Pipestone County
  60. Polk County
  61. Pope County
  62. Ramsey County
  63. Red Lake County
  64. Redwood County
  65. Renville County
  66. Rice County
  67. Rock County
  68. Roseau County
  69. Saint Louis County
  70. Scott County
  71. Sherburne County
  72. Sibley County
  73. Stearns County
  74. Steele County
  75. Stevens County
  76. Swift County
  77. Todd County
  78. Traverse County
  79. Wabasha County
  80. Wadena County
  81. Waseca County
  82. Washington County
  83. Watonwan County
  84. Wilkin County
  85. Winona County
  86. Wright County
  87. Yellow Medicine County