Tekne Finalists Announced: Includes two rural companies

The Tekne finalist were announced last week. It’s always fun to see what smart folks are doing, especially when those smart folks are our neighbors. I was a little dismayed to see that only two obviously rural companies made the list. I think that’s on the rural companies – next year we should give the committees of bigger taste of what’s happening outside of the metro area.

In the meantime a special congrats to Feedlogic out of Willmar for their place on the Ag and Wood Award list and Awear Technologies from Pine City for their place on the Education Technology Award. And really congrats to the whole list

Categories and finalists for the 2014 Tekne Awards are:


The Advanced Manufacturing Award honors technological innovation in the manufacturing process to increase speed and accuracy and reduce costs while minimizing environmental impact. Finalists are: 3M (St. Paul), H.B. Fuller (St. Paul) and T3 Scientific LLC (Blaine).


The Agriculture and Food Award honors technological advances in agriculture operations that enhance productivity and efficiency, improve environmental sustainability or contribute to food safety. The finalists are: Ecolab (St. Paul), Garden Fresh Farms (Maplewood) and Feedlogic (Willmar).


The Collaboration for Community Impact Award recognizes a collaboration or partnership that demonstrates leadership, dedication and excellence in delivering an innovation to Minnesota while meeting an unmet community need. This product, service or innovative technology could assist an underserved population or community, enhance the quality of life, health or safety for the community at large, or promote an innovative job creation strategy. Finalists are: Clockwork Active Media and Code Savvy (Minneapolis), The Works Museum and The Minnesota Department of Education (Bloomington and Roseville) and Bankcard Services, TIES and Arux Software (St. Paul, Falcon Heights and Woodbury).


The Cyber Security Award recognizes innovative products or services that secure networks, computers or systems from unintended or unauthorized access. These include, but are not limited to; identity management products or services, trusted authentication and verification processes. Finalists are: Adventium Labs (Minneapolis), Code42 (Minneapolis) and TransAuth (New Brighton).


The Education Technology Award honors innovations that measurably improve student learning and academic performance in the classroom. This includes the development of educational games, learning apps for mobile devices, innovative approaches to distance learning or student project assignments that engage students with core curriculum via technology. Finalists are: Adventium Labs (Minneapolis), Awear Technologies (Pine City) and Convent of the Visitation School (Mendota).


The Energy Award honors innovations that enhance efficiency of energy usage or delivery, reduce environmental impact and encourage energy conservation. Finalists are: Ecolab (St. Paul), Minnesota Community Solar (Minneapolis) and RA Knowledge (Minneapolis).


The Healthcare Award honors innovative development or deployment of medical devices, diagnostics or equipment, disease treatment or pharmaceuticals that measurably improve patient care delivery, reduce recovery times or improve patient health. Finalists are: Monteris Medical Corporation (Plymouth), Starkey Hearing Technologies (Eden Prairie) and Zimmer Spine (Minneapolis).


The IT Services Award recognizes the contributions of technology service providers whose creative approaches to business solutions streamline client processes, reduce customer costs, shorten time to marketing and/or increase service capacity or customer access through technology. Finalists are: Delta Air Lines (Eagan), FieldSolutions (Minnetonka) and Thomson Reuters (Eagan).


The Software Award honors innovation in software development or applications for business or consumer use. Established company finalists are: Help Systems (Eden Prairie), Honeywell (Golden Valley) and SPS Commerce (Minneapolis). Small and growing company finalists are: Avionte (Eagan), Barometer (Minneapolis) and Calabrio (Minneapolis).


The Startup Award recognizes an early-stage Minnesota technology company with commercialized products that demonstrates significant potential, creativity and a promising future. The company must be less than three years old, have one to 30 employees and generate revenue. The finalists are: Gravie (Minneapolis), NimbeLink (Plymouth) and NxThera (Maple Grove).


The Workforce Development Award honors innovative approaches to training workers in transition or youth with technology skills and successfully matching them to jobs that meet the needs of Minnesota companies. Finalists are: Creating IT Futures Foundation(Downers, IL), Genesis 10(St. Paul) and the Biotechnology Program of Minneapolis Community and Technical College (Minneapolis).

The 2014 Tekne Awards program will begin with VIP registration and a reception at 4:30 p.m., followed by general registration and cocktails at 5 p.m. Dinner will be served at 5:45 p.m., with the awards ceremony beginning at 7 p.m. Paul Douglas, meteorologist, author and entrepreneur, will emcee the event.

To register for the 2014 Tekne Awards program, visit http://www.tekneawards.org or contact Angela McLaughlin at 952-230-4552 or angelam@mhta.org.

This entry was posted in economic development, MN by Ann Treacy. Bookmark the permalink.

About Ann Treacy

Librarian who follows rural broadband in MN and good uses of new technology (blandinonbroadband.org), hosts a radio show on MN music (mostlyminnesota.com), supports people experiencing homelessness in Minnesota (elimstrongtowershelters.org) and helps with social justice issues through Women’s March MN.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s