FCC Transition Team

On Friday Obama’s team announced their transtion leads for the FCC. It includes Susan Crawford and Ken Werbach.

Susan Crawford is a communications law and Internet law professor at the University of Michigan. She was on the ICANN board. She’s a champion of network neutrality. She maintains a blog where she’s pretty good about giving her opinions to what’s going on with the FCC, or ICANN, or the Election.

Ken Werbach is an assistant professor of legal studies and business ethics at the University of Pennsylvania’s Wharton School. He runs the Supernova conference. Werbach is also a net neutrality proponent and maintains a blog where he too is very forthcoming with his opinions.

I tried to look around to see what the word on the street was regarding the announcement – but there’s not much out there yet. The Obama supporters are happy; others are maybe not so happy. Wired did have a fun post of the topic, where they point out that,

“The choice of the duo strongly signals an entirely different approach to the incumbent-friendly telecom policymaking that’s characterized most of the past eight-years at the FCC.”

This entry was posted in FCC, Policy by Ann Treacy. Bookmark the permalink.

About Ann Treacy

Librarian who follows rural broadband in MN and good uses of new technology (blandinonbroadband.org), hosts a radio show on MN music (mostlyminnesota.com), supports people experiencing homelessness in Minnesota (elimstrongtowershelters.org) and helps with social justice issues through Women’s March MN.

1 thought on “FCC Transition Team

  1. Pingback: Change of Guard at FCC « Blandin on Broadband

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s